Place markers/areas on iNaturalist that fall within the Garden Route District boundaries

iNaturalist is encouraging users to make use of places already created instead of re-creating an existing place. It however does not discourage the creation of places that do not exist.
“Editing place boundaries is one of the biggest sources of slowdowns on iNat. If you can avoid it, do not add, change, or remove place boundaries unless it's absolutely necessary.”

Here is a list of places within the Garden Route District that exist on iNaturalist. See if they match your requirements, and feel free to use them in your projects.

Garden Route District Municipality (South Africa), ZA Municipality (terrestrial) https://www.inaturalist.org/places/garden-route-district-municipality-south-africa
Garden Route District Municipality incl 2 nautical mile, ZA Local Administrative Area https://www.inaturalist.org/places/garden-route-district-municipality-incl-2-nautical-mile

Municipalities

Local Government - Bitou Municipality Municipality https://www.inaturalist.org/places/local-government-bitou-municipality
Local Government - George Municipality, WC, ZA Municipality https://www.inaturalist.org/places/local-government-george-municipality
Local Government - Hessequa Municipality, ZA Municipality https://www.inaturalist.org/places/local-government-hessequa-municipality
Local Government - Kannaland Municipality, ZA Municipality https://www.inaturalist.org/places/local-government-kannaland-municipality
Local Government - Knysna Municipality, ZA Municipality https://www.inaturalist.org/places/local-government-knysna-municipality
Local Government - Mossel Bay Municipality, ZA Municipality https://www.inaturalist.org/places/local-government-mossel-bay-municipality
Local Government - Oudtshoorn Municipality, ZA Municipality https://www.inaturalist.org/places/local-government-oudtshoorn-municipality
Garden Route District - Marine, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/174095

Cape Nature reserves

Anysberg Nature Reserve, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146658
Attaquaskloof, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146659
Doringrivier Wilderness Area, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146661
Gamkaberg Nature Reserve, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146655
Gamkapoort Nature Reserve, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146663
Goukamma Nature Reserve, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146653
Groot Swartberg, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146665
Kammanassie Nature Reserve, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146654
Keurbooms River Nature Reserve, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146668
Moordkuil & Jonkersberg Nature Reserve, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146660
Outeniqua Nature Reserve - Attaquaskloof, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146659
Robberg Nature Reserve, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146657
Rooiberg Nature Reserve, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146656
Swartberg East, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146664
Towerkop Nature Reserve, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146666
Witfontein Nature Reserve, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146662

South African National Parks

Proposed Garden Route National Park, ZA Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/146690

Bird Hides

Bird hide (GRBG) Point of Interest https://www.inaturalist.org/places/129823
Gallinule Bird Hide (Garden Route, South Africa), ZA Point of Interest https://www.inaturalist.org/places/129795
Malachite Bird Hide Garden Route, South Africa), ZA Point of Interest https://www.inaturalist.org/places/129794
Rondevlei Bird hide (Garden Route, South Africa), ZA Point of Interest https://www.inaturalist.org/places/129793

Plettenerg Bay Area

Plettenberg Park Botanical Estate, WC, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/plettenberg-park-botanical-estate

Mossel Bay area

Aalwyndal, Mossel Bay, WC, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/aalwyndal
Danabaai, Mossel Bay https://www.inaturalist.org/places/danabaai-mossel-bay
Diosma Reserve, Mossel Bay https://www.inaturalist.org/places/diosma-reserve
Erf 14072, Mossel Bay, WC, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/erf-14072
Erf 271 Little Brak River, Mossel Bay https://www.inaturalist.org/places/erf-271-little-brak-river
Erf 928 Little Brak River, Mossel Bay https://www.inaturalist.org/places/erf-928-little-brak-river
Outramps CREW Erf 19201, Mossel Bay https://www.inaturalist.org/places/erf-19201-mossel-bay
Paardekop 13, Bonniedale, Mossel Bay Municipality https://www.inaturalist.org/places/paardekop-13
SPCA, Mossel Bay Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/spca-mossel-bay
St Blaize Lighthouse - Mossel Bay https://www.inaturalist.org/places/st-blaize-lighthouse-mossel-bay
St Blaize Trail, Mossel Bay, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/st-blaize-trail

George area

Greater George Area Miscellaneous (Square – Not municipal boundaries) https://www.inaturalist.org/places/greater-george-area
Garden Route Botanical Garden Open Space https://www.inaturalist.org/places/garden-route-botanical-garden
The Fort Uniondale https://www.inaturalist.org/places/the-fort-uniondale
Uniondale, WC, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/uniondale

Knysna area

Cola Conservancy, Sedgefield https://www.inaturalist.org/places/cola-conservancy
Erf 761, Brenton – Knysna https://www.inaturalist.org/places/erf-761
Knysna, WC, ZA (including marine section) https://www.inaturalist.org/places/knysna
Leisure Isle, Knysna https://www.inaturalist.org/places/leisure-isle
Ocean View, Brenton, Knysna https://www.inaturalist.org/places/ocean-view
Pledge Nature Reserve, Knysna, WC, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/pledge-nature-reserve-knysna-wc-za
Sedgefield Island Conservancy, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/sedgefield-island-conservancy
Southern Right Private Nature Reserve, Uitzigt 216 Ptn 65, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna https://www.inaturalist.org/places/southern-right-private-nature-reserve
Steenbok Nature Reserve - Leisure Isle, Knysna https://www.inaturalist.org/places/steenbok-nature-reserve-leisure-isle
Timber Village Knysna https://www.inaturalist.org/places/timber-village-knysna
Uitzigt 216 Portion 39, Endlovana, Knysna https://www.inaturalist.org/places/uitzigt-216-portion-39
Uitzigt 216 Portion 78, Brenton-on-Sea https://www.inaturalist.org/places/uitzigt-216-portion-78-brenton-on-sea
Uitzigt Portion 46 - Mooi Uitzicht, Knysna https://www.inaturalist.org/places/uitzigt-portion-46-mooi-uitzicht
Villa Castollini, Brenton, Knysna https://www.inaturalist.org/places/villa-castollini-brenton-knysna
Western Head – Knysna https://www.inaturalist.org/places/western-head-knysna
Westford Bridge Estate – Knysna https://www.inaturalist.org/places/westford-bridge-estate-knysna

Riversdale

Werner Frehse Nature Reserve https://www.inaturalist.org/places/werner-frehse-nr

Catchments

Goukou quaternary H90A, ZA Drainage https://www.inaturalist.org/places/goukou-quaternary-h90a
Goukou quaternary H90B, ZA Drainage https://www.inaturalist.org/places/goukou-quaternary-h90b
Goukou quaternary H90C, ZA Drainage https://www.inaturalist.org/places/goukou-quaternary-h90c
Goukou quaternary H90D, ZA Drainage https://www.inaturalist.org/places/goukou-quaternary-h90d
Goukou quaternary H90E, ZA Drainage https://www.inaturalist.org/places/goukou-quaternary-h90e

Vegetation

GRDM Veg - Afromontane Forest, ZA Land Feature https://www.inaturalist.org/places/grdm-veg-afromontane-forest
GRDM Veg - Central Mountain Renosterveld, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/grdm-veg-central-mountain-renosterveld-za
GRDM Veg - Dune Thicket, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/grdm-veg-dune-thicket
GRDM Veg - Grassy Fynbos, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/grdm-veg-grassy-fynbos
GRDM Veg - Limestone Fynbos, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/grdm-veg-limestone-fynbos
GRDM Veg - Little Succulent Karoo, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/grdm-veg-little-succulent-karoo
GRDM Veg - Mountain Fynbos, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/grdm-veg-mountain-fynbos
GRDM Veg - South and Southwest Coast Renosterveld, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/grdm-veg-south-and-southwest-coast-renosterveld
GRDM Veg - Spekboom Succulent Thicket, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/grdm-veg-spekboom-succulent-thicket
GRDM Veg - Valley Thicket, ZA https://www.inaturalist.org/places/grdm-veg-valley-thicket

Any more places? Please leave a comment below and I will update the list.
Thanks

Posted by shauns shauns, June 20, 2021 19:06

Comments

No comments yet.

Add a Comment

Sign In or Sign Up to add comments