Taxonomic Swap 133194 (Committed on 10-30-2023)

The small bustards formerly united in Eupodotis (Eupodotis senegalensis, E. caerulescens, E. vigorsii, E. rueppelii, E. humilis, E. savilei, E. gindiana, E. ruficrista, E. afra, and E. afraoides) are now treated by WGAC within four different genera due to non-monophyly of the genus Eupodotis sensu lato, as demonstrated by the tree of Pitra et al. (2002). Eupodotis senegalensis and Eupodotis caerulescens remain in that genus; the other generic groups are Heterotetrax vigorsii, Heterotetrax rueppelii, and Heterotetrax humilis; Lophotis savilei, Lophotis gindiana, and Lophotis ruficrista; and Afrotis afraand Afrotis afraoides. This accords with the generic treatment of del Hoyo and Collar (2014), but not completely with that of Burleigh et al. (2015), in which for example the very similar afra and afraoides (which are sister taxa in Pitra et al. 2002) are in different clades.

eBird/Clements Checklist v2023 (Citation)
Added by donalddavesne on October 30, 2023 05:39 PM | Committed by donalddavesne on October 30, 2023
replaced with


No comments yet.

Add a Comment

Sign In or Sign Up to add comments